Tropical Hideaway Reviews - Kathleen T. Carr

Guest Comments about Tropical Hideaway


We will most certainly be back!

Of all of the AirBnb experiences we have had over the years, this one takes the cake. Kathy's space is an incredible one. The outdoor shower, hot tub, cistern-turned-pool, and open-air bedroom were major highlights, along with thoughtful touches like robes, access to beach gear (towels, masks/snorkels, boogie boards) and fresh fruit picked from the property. The location was fantastic, highly central (via car) to many local beaches which we visited frequently. Kathy was great to communicate with, and provided many local recommendations which were very beneficial. Thanks so much Kathy for a wonderful stay, we will most certainly be back!

May 2018


Tropical Hideaway in Captain Cook is the way to go!

We spent four nights at the Tropical Hideaway and loved every minute! The space is open to the outdoors but screened in, so you can hear Coqui frogs at night, which is incredibly soothing and makes you feel like you are in the jungle. The location is right next to many wonderful beaches and snorkeling spots, and Kathleen gives you all of the local tips. There is a private hot tub and spot to watch the sunset, and everything feels very private. We cooked in most nights and have no complaints. Tropical Hideaway in Captain Cook is the way to go!

April 2018


Heaven on Earth

Tucked back from the main road, yet close to 3 of the most stunning bays I have ever seen, with easy access to snorkeling, kayaking, bodysurfing...AND I highly recommend you have Kathy (the owner) bring you swimming with the dolphins - truly one of the most magical experiences of my life!! If you want the luxury resort experience - head north, but for nature lovers and those who like exploring the ocean, this is heaven on earth. I'm already looking to see when I can return.

Left on Apr 13, 2018 for a stay in Apr 2018


Romantic Outdoor Oasis

My husband and I spent three nights at Tropical Hideaway at the beginning of our trip to the big island. When we arrived late in the evening, we were greeted by Kathleen, the owner, and she graciously showed us around the property. The place was extremely well stocked and even had baskets of fresh fruit from the property that we could eat. We LOVED the private hot tub. There is also something so refreshing about showering outside. The screen walls allowed a wonderful breeze to blow through the house and the foliage around the house provided enough privacy so walls really weren’t necessary, plus you get a nice view of the trees and a small ocean view to boot. The inside of the house was very clean. If you’re alright with a little spiderweb clearing and a more “outdoor” experience, you’ll love Tropical Hideaway!

Submitted: Apr 11, 2018 | Stayed: April 2018


Such a lovely way to spend time in Hawaii ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My husband and myself just spent a week at Kathleen Carr's wonderful Tropical Hideaway! The way you have such a quaint lovely place to stay and yet always feel connected to the warm air breezes of south Kona is exquisite. And then there is the hot tub, which we used morning and evening. The place is just up the road from Two Step, one of the richest places to snorkel. It has it all! The outside shower took me a little time to get used to, but soon became very enjoyable.

Feb. 7th , 2018 review


We recommend it!

February 2018 review, in French! (translated)

Accommodation is very pleasant to enjoy the Hawaiian atmosphere. It's very good. The outdoor shower under the banana trees, the fruits of the garden and the jacuzzi are a real plus! There's a barbecue to eat. 10 minutes by car you can find coffee for breakfast and nice restaurants, Kona is 20 minutes away, beautiful beaches at 15-20 minutes. We have not been disappointed in housing and we recommend it!"


Tranquility! ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I loved every minute of my 5 day stay here. Now wishing I would have booked the whole month with Kathy, instead of moving around like I am. South Kona- just minutes up the hill from two-step (best snorkeling on the island) and only a few more to the best beach on the island. A truly charming little place surrounded by vegetation and everything I needed for a comfortable stay. At first I was a tad apprehensive about taking my shower outdoors but it's so private, with it's own private yard...shower and enjoy the magnificent sunsets! The description is perfectly accurate- including the rooster crowing in the middle of the night sometimes. Earplugs/cotton balls came in handy. Honestly, that, the frogs, the birds and geckos...all the sights and sounds of the outdoors made my stay an unforgettable adventure in Hawaii! I Will definitely be back next year!

Date of arrival January 13, 2018


Perfect place to launch your Hawaiian Dream Vacation

This is an absolutely charming, well equipped piece of paradise. The views both from inside and out are the stuff dreams are made of. Forget going to the store; Kathleen kept us well-stocked in fruits from the property. The hot tub right outside the door and heavenly shower made going to the beach a tough sell. The location is absolutely perfect with snorkeling, kayaking and the beach minutes down the hill. Here you have it all, views, privacy, magic.

Left on Jan 8, 2018 for a stay in Dec 2017


Great place for a real Hawaiian experience.

The outdoor space is private and fantastic. The outdoor shower is great and we loved the private hot tub. Kitchen has everything you need and the outdoor grill makes it easy to have dinner in. The bed was comfortable and the the living space is well laid out. Both Kathy and Ivy were very friendly.December 2017 staySuch a lovely hideawayBill and I wanted to thank you for providing such a lovely hideaway in beautiful big island. Your ohana rental is so lovely and peaceful. Wonderful to be so close to all the best beaches and historic sites in your area. We slept great and appreciated having all the amenities of home provided. Your landscaping is amazing too and much appreciated. Thank you again and we will be back sometime soon.

December 2017 stay


Great! ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My husband and I had an amazing time staying at Kathy's Tropical Hideaway surrounded by tropical fruit trees and listening to calming bird and frog chirping. It felt like an ultimate paradise for people who work in the busy city. We never used earplugs, frogs sound more like exotic birds and it felt like a lullaby before we fell asleep. Very close by snorkeling Two Step, it is the best, we were lucky to swim with spinner dolphins at this bay, very magical! Kathy was very helpful, we will miss her fresh papayas and lemons she left for us every morning in the basket from her own trees.

Date of arrival November 23, 2017


September 2017 review (in Italian!, translated)

If you're looking for real contact with the amazing nature of Hawaii, without giving up a full apartment of everything, then tropical hideaway is the place for you! You will find yourself completely immersed in the green, with the feeling of falling asleep every night in the garden of Eden, maybe after enjoying an amazing sunset on the ocean from the reserved garden, and after a shower under a starry sky to catch your breath, and maybe after a bath Warm relaxing in the amazing hottub! And then Kathleen and Michael: two beautiful and generous souls, who will be able to make you comfortable immediately, present and ready to answer any (any) need, but always discreet and never intrusive. An unforgettable experience that stays in your heart! Super super super are!"


Perfect getaway ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

We spent five nights here on our honeymoon and it was absolutely wonderful! We had everything we needed for our stay and felt right at home. We loved the fresh fruit, the hot tub, the pool, outdoor shower and the thoughtful layout of the studio and garden. Michael and Ivy were available when we needed things, which wasn't much, and they happily answered all our questions about tropical plants (we both have farming backgrounds). The location is just perfect for snorkeling at Two-step and exploring the area south of Kona. We loved falling asleep to the sound of frogs at night - the Hawaii version of crickets. The couple times we ate in we had everything we needed for simple meals and the coffee supplied for our first couple mornings was a nice touch. Fresh fruit with local coffee sitting on our garden patio was the perfect way to start our days and relaxing in the hot tub in the evening was a wonderful way to end them. I would definitely recommend this place to others and hope to make it back here again some day!

Date of arrival August 8, 2017


 Paradise

Stayed for 10 nights in July. Myself and my 16 year old son arrived late at night and tired from our long journey. We stepped out of the car to be greeted by a magically lit garden driveway, a chorus of birds like I've never heard before, and a warm welcome from Kathy. I try to make the accomodation a part of my travel adventure and this hit the mark. We were never in a rush to leave, sitting in the gardens with a Kona coffee and a book, or enjoying the hot tub, outdoor shower with an ocean view, fresh fruit, and more, and after a day of activity were lulled to sleep by the fresh air and bird song. Kathy, as well as Michael and Ivy, let us be, but were most helpful when we needed. I was suprised to find there were coolers, lawn/beach chairs, boogie boards, and snorkeling gear for guests. We scuba dived around Kona but enjoyed the nearby snorkeling just as much, which is the best snorkeling on the Island. Yes, as some guests have noted, the accomodation is close to a highway, but it is single lane traffic and only "busy" in the morning when you are getting up anyway (why waste your day - this is Hawaii!). Hotels are noisier, in my opinion. Also noted - my son says the wifi is better than at home :). I hope to go back the Big Island and to stay at Tropical Hideaway again.

review from July 21, 2017


We loved it!

It's a sweet place. Beautiful location, lovely ocean. Just relaxing a filled with vibrancy and beauty. Kathy is wonderful.

Left on Jul 19, 2017 for a stay in Jul 2017


A natural paradise

A natural paradise, with incredible snorkeling a short drive away If you like the idea of staying in the middle of a gorgeous tropical garden (including trees that produce apple bananas, lilikoi, papaya, and other fruits in season), then Tropical Hideaway will be heaven for you. The studio is screened in, so you can listen to the breeze and forest sounds as you drift off to sleep and wake up in the morning. Some of these sounds include the ubiquitous and often loud Coqui frogs, but the ear plugs in the well-stocked medicine chest ensured a good night's sleep. The property offers plenty of amenities, including a gas grill, two hot tubs, and a salt-water dip pool, as well as snorkel gear, beach towels, straw mats, and just about anything else you might need for water fun. The studio is nicely appointed and well equipped. We loved the outdoor shower, complete with an ocean view and anthuriums at our feet. Although the Hideaway itself is quite private, Kathy, the owner, lives upstairs and is very friendly and willing to help, and Ivy, the resident gardener, told us about Kiernan's Music in Kealakekua, where we bought a terrific ukelele. Kathy generously allows guests to use her Netflix and Pandora, which was great at night. We appreciated being in such a beautiful natural setting, drinking wine, and watching "The Crown." The main reason we booked this property, however, is that it is about a five-minute drive from Two Step Beach, perhaps the best snorkeling in the Hawaiian Islands. If you love snorkeling, you should stay at Tropical Hideway. Kathy, also an avid snorkeller, kindly lent us her fish identification books. Now, a few caveats: (1) If you expect hotel-like luxury, you will probably find the Hideaway a bit rustic. (2) If you are not a big fan of the outdoors, you won't have a good time because you are basically "glamping." It rained quite a bit while we were there (as we discovered, the Kona side does have a rainy season). Also, if you are a mosquito attractor, bring Cutter's (the only repellent that worked for me). (3) If you have accessibility issues, the step-up platform bed, while very comfortable, may be difficult for you to manage. All in all, we truly enjoyed our stay at Tropical Hideaway and would definitely like to return.

Submitted: Jul 8, 2017 | Stayed: June 2017


Lovely Place to Restore and Relax ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

We stayed at the Tropical Getaway and were completely enchanted by the location and ambiance of the place. The website pictures are a true representation. The grounds are beautiful and quiet (bring earplugs though for the coqui frogs!). The bed was super comfortable. The whole place is screened in so you feel like you are outside all of the time, which we loved. Since it was so lovely outside this was welcome and wonderful. We loved the hot tub which is kept very clean. It is a very private spot and we felt like we had it all to ourselves. Kathy, the owner, was friendly and helpful. It was nice to meet her. The kitchen had everything we needed and was easy to use. The bathroom was super clean and the outdoor shower was easy to use and very private. We used the Hideaway as a base for many adventures but our favorite was the Place of Refuge and Two Step snorkeling spot, which were mere minutes from the Hideaway. We enjoyed delicious avocados from the surrounding gardens. We couldn't have chosen a better place. It was so hard to leave!

Date of arrival May 8, 2017


A Gem!

from an Airbnb guest, April 2017:

The Hideaway was a gem. It's equipped with anything you might need and many thoughtful touches. It was a great spot from which to explore Big Island and just minutes away from fabulous snorkeling. Thanks for being a great host. The hideaway was exactly what we needed.


Wonderfully rustic and relaxing

Loved my 12 days at this rental. Amazing gardens, fabulous pool and everything I needed to enjoy every moment. There is everything you need in the kitchen, the outdoor shower was amazing and the bed is very comfortable. Having no windows and just screens allowed a wonderful breeze to fill the unit and because of the rustic location this allowed the sounds of nature to also fill the unit. Ear plugs helped the first few nights but then was used to the noises and thoroughly enjoyed falling asleep and waking up them. The location is away from town and you must have a car to access stores. The snorkeling 3 mins away at two step beach was amazing and I was blessed to have seen dolphins, turtles and hundreds of fish. Thank you so much Ivy for welcoming me in Kathy's absence and thank you Kathy for your hospitality upon your return. Would return again in a heartbeat! Big Mahalo!!!

Tasha, April 2017


Fabulous place to stay to explore dolphin beaches 2 step, Hookena Bay, and Kealakekua.  

Wonderful private location off road but easy to get to and near all best beaches. Has new excellent bed, and great hot tub that was appreciated after being in ocean. Clean, well appointed, very natural and in the jungle feel. Kathy is an amazing resource to everything on Kona side and extremely knowledgeable about whales and dolphins. A lovely laid back Hawaiian getaway.

Feb 2017


We will be back for sure!

Kathy was an amazing, attentive host that gave us privacy, yet she was available if we needed anything. The space was incredible! Clean, bright, airy and cozy. Kathy lives above you, but she stays on the other side of her house as to not disturb you with footsteps above. The grounds were lush with jungle plants and flowers that made it a true private oasis! The salt water pool was a great escape on crowded beach days. We loved the organic clean nature of the space. Ivy the gardener was a lovely presence and fun to chat with. Painted Church is within walking distance and two step is a five minute drive! Roosters and dogs barking at night were the only downside, but we turned on the box fan and put ear plugs in and drifted into dreams, only to wake up to another one at Kathy's place! We will be back for sure!

January 2017


Best VRBO on the entire Big Island! ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

We loved staying at this location. The pictures well represented the accommodation. It was away from the busyness of the more touristy areas and felt as though we were living in the rain forest - surrounded by a wide variety of trees, plants, and flowers. The location is great, as it is a two minute drive to some of the best snorkeling in Hawaii. Kathleen, the owner, was very pleasant, and Ivy, the gardener who lives on the property, was always very welcoming and helpful. During our stay, there were a couple cooler days; but the hot tub just outside the door was a true blessing. The accommodation is rustic, but that is part of the beauty of the Tropical Hideaway. I would recommend staying here!

Date of arrival December 17, 2016


Tropical Hideaway is truely magical. It had a great energy,and very welcoming ambiance. The location is excellent. ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The owner is very welcoming. The place is rustic, but it also has all the amenities for self sufficient stay. The private hot tub, with the fact for healthy choices when it comes to sanitation was a huge plus. The fresh fruit from the garden, the swimming pool, all the swim and beach gear that was provided, and on and on i could go. One of my best stay ever. Thank you so much!:)

Date of arrival December 9, 2016


Great little get away in the jungle!

Only few minutes from shops and around 25 minutes to Kona town. Perfect to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life and escape to the country. Amazing snorkelling inly 5 minutes drive away, we even saw some turtles! Hot tube was a God send after a long flight. Highly recommend this AirBnB!

October-November:2016


Hideaway ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

What a unique place that we loved! Being all screened in, you can really take in the Hawaii air and sounds. The private outside area and shower are surrounded by trees, plants, and flowers-so beautiful. I enjoyed watching the sun go down as I took a shower! The space was comfortable, and it was nice having Netflix to relax to before bed. Two Step was so great for snorkeling and it's so close to the hideaway-highly recommend!

Date of arrival July 30, 2016


A True Tropical Hideway ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

If you are looking for an escape into a tropical paradise then this is the place for you. Away from the hustle and bustle we found ourselves enveloped in the wonderful sights, sounds and scents of what felt like the real Hawaii. We were warmly welcomed by our hostess Kathy who was very attentive to answer any questions but was completely respective of our privacy. It really felt like we had the place to ourselves even though she and her gardener Ivy live on the property. We particularly enjoyed our outdoor shower, the private spa, the sounds of the forest at night and the wonderful pool converted from an old cistern. Thank you so much for a memorable stay.

Mark & Bill Date of arrival, July 12, 2016


Paradise Found ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This was a perfect space for a relaxing vacation. I stayed for six nights, and could have stayed longer. Five to ten minute drive to three of the best beaches south of Kona. The space is charming, cozy and comfortable. The bedroom/living room has screens for walls, so it's like sleeping outside and camping, but in a comfy bed and a view of the ocean. The outdoor shower has a great view of sunsets, and the hot tub makes for a relaxing nightcap. Full kitchen facilities too. Kathy took me on a swim with the dolphins, which was wonderful, and she and groundskeeper Ivy were very responsive to questions.

Suzanne, Date of arrival June 15, 2016


We absolutely love it

My husband and I have stayed at the Tropical Hideaway twice, first in February 2013 and just recently in June 2016. We absolutely love it there and consider it a home away from home—the breathtaking surroundings, the outdoor shower and the hot tub, the screened windows that let you feel like you are outdoors at all times, the cute studio that has pretty much everything we need, and proximity to the best snorkeling spot on the island. Kathy is a delightful host who is very resourceful and attentive, yet also respectful of your privacy at the same time. We booked a guided dolphin snorkel tour with her, which was just lovely. She showed us her favorite local spots to swim with wild dolphins and educated us on etiquette and safety. Even though the dolphins did not make an appearance that particular morning, Kathy sharing her knowledge from decades of experience and giving us a detailed snorkeling tour of Two Step was well worth it—and thanks to her tutelage, we were able to spot and swim with dolphins every day after that :) I should also mention that Kathy is also an incredible photographer so make sure to check out her work as well! Overall, we can’t say enough great things about our experience with Kathy and the Tropical Hideaway—really can’t wait to come back and stay a third time!

 Heiko and Jeff, Airbnb guests June 9-15, 2016


Beautiful. Tropical, everything as advertised! ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

All the makings of home. Plus, privacy and hot tub a view to die for. Snorkeling close, eateries close, fruit stand just beyond 160 on 11 is wonderful, their smoothies are top notch. Had a wonderful time.

Arrival June 24, 2016


Very beautiful and private island hideaway!

Stephanie and Chris, Airbnb guests, May 2016

“We enjoyed waking up to the birds and going to sleep to the sounds of the frogs. The outdoor shower, hot tub and dipping pool were so much fun. Staying here reconnects you with nature in such a positive and inspirational way. Plus a very quick drive to the best snorkeling on the island; two step! Kathy was a great host and very accommodating.”


Delightful

March 18, 2016 VBRO 5 star

We really had a good time here. The property is away from the crowds. It has gardens, a hot tub and use of a little salt water pool. Our yard had a Buddha and visiting pet cats. The rental is open air with screens, which was neat. Kathy and Ivy are so helpful and nice. We enjoyed the papaya every morning. We took a walk to the Painted Church most days which was neat. Snorkling is nearby. We did lots of treks on the west side. We enjoyed visiting Pu'uhonua o Honaunau, a national historical park, going to Polulu Valley hiking, (a suggestion from Ivy), hitting a brewhaus in Waimea, etc.


Really is charming

March 23, 2016 VBRO 5 star

I stayed here with my 16 y.o. niece and we both loved this rental; we are already talking about renting it again next time. It is really as wonderful as it appears. The landscaping is exquisite. The fruit (papayas and bananas when we were there) was plentiful and accessible. The hot tub was private and easy to use. The pool - although shared - was secluded and had great views of the ocean; while the pool was small, it was 10 feet deep and got good afternoon sun; we loved cooling off there after our day's adventures and we never encountered anyone else using it when we were there. Best of all, it really is only 5 minutes to the wonderful snorkeling at Two Step. (Secret tip: you can park at Place of Refuge for $5 and it is good all week if you save the receipt; but for my early morning snorkels it was easy to park right on the road next to Two Step). For those who like hiking, there were interesting hikes leading both north and south from Two Step along the coast. The cottage itself is designed well. We had the futon made up and it was a comfortable full bed. There was still a space the size of a full mattress in between the beds. A wall separates the kitchen from bed, which made for more privacy. I could wake up early, turn on the chili lights in the kitchen, make up a cup of coffee in the 4-cup coffee pot and slip down to Two Step without the teenager ever waking up. With screens all around there were nice breezes and at sunset we could stop our card game to watch the sunset right from inside the cottage. The wi-fi worked well as did Netflix. It is a great place to stay away from the hustle and bustle.


A truly unique and enjoyable experience in the Hawaiian rainforest

February 2016 stay VBRO 5 star

We stayed for 1 month and loved it. It is exactly as described on the website. We loved the screened in walls allowing us to enjoy the tropical scenery surrounding the place. I couldn't believe waking up in the middle of our first night and seeing the stars in the sky with a black foreground of palm trees swaying in the breeze. The temperature is so consistent, never once did we add an extra layer of clothing during cooler times or wish we had air conditioning. The trees, shrubs and flowers were so lush and beautiful, enjoyable from the back patio as well as from inside. The outside shower was perfect and so handy for enjoying the hot tub on the patio. We prefer to eat most of our meals at home or take our own lunches and with a fully equipped kitchen including refrigerator, hotplate, toaster oven and microwave, managed just fine. There is some traffic noise, especially in the morning and evening, but not enough to be a concern. Although Kathy provides earplugs for those that are bothered by the sounds of nature or the roosters, we never used them as they weren't loud enough to be bothersome and actually added to our experience. Another very important thing is that, even though Kathy lives in the house above the studio and her gardener lives in a another ground level apartment on the other end of the building, the place was perfectly laid out so that we had complete privacy and you barely knew when anyone was around. We found the location perfect for enjoying the snorkelling and historical park just 10 minutes down the hill and even for kayaking to the Captain Cook monument just a little further away. Kathy was a very gracious host and goes to great length to make your stay an enjoyable one. She is also a professional photographer with a very interesting background and is very close to nature with a wealth of information and will even provide guided nature or photography tours. Her gardener, Ivy, was extremely friendly and helpful and fun to talk to and and definitely added to our experience. My wife and I prefer off the beaten path spots that are private with pleasant surroundings and close to nature, something very hard to find. Tropical Hideaway fit us perfectly. When we return to the Big Island, we will definitely try to stay there again. We would definitely recommend Tropical Hideaway.


This place will make your vacation sparkle

Airbnb Guest January 2016

My wife and I arrived late at night, to the Tropical Hideaway, and we thought we knew exactly what to expect. We didn't expect to turn off the main highway onto a driveway to Jurassic Park. Magnificent, tropical plants surround and permeate the mega-private bungalow. We moved in easily and had everything we needed for a four-day stay. This place is relaxing, beautiful, and socially comfortable. The owner, Kathleen, and her gardener, Ivy, were super chill and helpful with all of our needs. The hot tub, natural outdoor shower, and salt-pool were exquisite ways to truly relax. The bed is amazing: You could nap all day in it, but don't, one of the best beaches on the Island is only several minutes' drive. We had a great stay in this lovely, open-concept, romantic hidey-hole. Oh, and the night-sounds are both sedative and hilarious. This place will make your vacation sparkle.


Very cool cozy hideout

Guest Steve, January 2016 Airbnb

The studio is tidy and comfy and surprisingly well stocked given the size, we had a great time staying here and thought the open air (with mesh netting for bugs) design was a nice change of pace. The hot tub is particularly fun and we were thrilled there was some masks and snorkels available to borrow! Kathleen was a very generous host and welcomed us when we arrived. The property has a few other tenants around including Kathleen but the studio is tucked away and there is plenty of privacy. Would definitely recommend!


A lovely garden setting with old Hawaiian charm!

January 5, 2016 VBRO 5 star

This lovely studio apartment has screens, not glass, so the bugs stay out, but the sweet air and bird songs come in! All the amenities you need, in a compact space. There is also a private patio and yard with many varieties of plants. All this for a reasonable price! The owner and her assistant were very friendly and helpful. Their recommendations for restaurants and activities were all spot-on. The rental is very convenient to the many activities of the South Kona area. We would definitely come back.


Wonderfully relaxing and truly enjoyable!

VRBO sta y December 27, 2015 VBRO 5 star

It was an absolute pleasure to stay here. My spouse and I could not have been happier to find this gem of a place to stay on Hawaii, and if given an opportunity we will definitely be returning. I would recommend staying here to anyone who wants to get away form the world for awhile and simply enjoy nature. The bed was lovely, Kathleen was very nice, and we had a fabulous time staying here.


Paradise Found!

Airbnb stay in December 2015

If you are looking to go native in a private cozy jungle hideout, and to make your own spa-like retreat, this is it. Kathy is an amazing, generous, and professional host, and while she lives on-site she gave us 100% privacy. She is also like a mini-travel agency, offering free snorkel & beach gear, and paid guide services for dolphin swims and photography tours. Kathy is a pro photographer and former resident teacher at Esalen in Big Sur, CA, and so she really knows how a retreat getaway should feel! The modest cabana was open to the air (no glass, just screens), very clean and had everything needed for BBQ outside or cooking inside (dual hot plate inside was fast to boil water for pasta). She has thought of every detail to make your stay easy. With the hot tub and beautiful pool, we didn't leave the property for the first two days we were there. Highly recommended. Exceeded all my expectations


Airbnb stay in November, 2015

Ivy, the other resident, showed me around and explained where everything was since Kathy, my host, was not there yet. Ivy did a great job. When Kathy came home, she checked in with me and answered all my questions. The home exceeded all my expectations and Kathy was a great hostess! The neighborhood was peaceful and the Two Steps Beach was very close for the best snorkeling in the world. I loved the privacy of my own little yard, outdoor shower and hot tub. The foliage and the house were beautiful and real Hawaiian.


Tropical Dreaming

VRBO stay, August 10, 2015

Surrounded by bamboo , wood carvings , beautiful tropical flowers, green foliage , colourful geckos and serenaded by the creatures of the jungle ..... George of the jungle, Tarzan, Gilligan's Island--all these ages rush through our minds as we began our week at Tropical Hideaway. This is a charming home away from home. It provides you with everything you need and if you let it much more !!!! We found our hosts charming and informative always willing to help but invisible to you unless you needed them. It's s perfect spot to explore the island from. Two Step and the Place of Refuge favourite daily stops. If you want a unique island experience then this is for you ! We cooked for ourselves and loved to eat in our cosy jungle home smile emoticon We fell into our big comfy bed every night exhausted from our daily adventures in paradise. We were sad to leave!!!! We hope to send our family and friends there to experience this beautiful place. Oh, nearly forgot favorite thing--Outdoor shower!! Thanks Kathleen for opening your beautiful space to us.


Nature Lover's Dream

VRBO stay, July 27, 2015 VBRO 5 star

My husband and I stayed at Kathy's Tropical Hideaway for 4 nights at the end of July. We loved it! It truly felt like our own tropical hideaway! If you're a nature lover that as a child dreamed of living in a tree house, the screened-in studio is the answer to that dream. Surrounded by lush, beautiful gardens with the sounds of nature all around, it's a nature lover's paradise. At night, lying in the super comfortable bed, the sounds of the night critters were amazing. Kathy had warned us to bring ear plugs if we were light sleepers, but I think the night music lulled us to sleep not waking us until the roosters crowed in the morning. We brought groceries and spent our mornings drinking Kona coffee, fixing breakfasts and enjoying the resident geckos, 2 cats and the cool breezes in the garden. When you're on vacation you're torn between relaxing and getting out and seeing all there is to see. Relaxing was winning out, I don't think we ever left the studio before noon. And coming home in the evening to either the jacuzzi or the refreshing swimming pool with awesome views, it was all too perfect. I could go on about the specific amenities like the charming outdoor shower; fully stocked kitchen; patio grill; etc., but other reviewers have described those perfectly. We try to experience different places while on vacation but this place is worth returning to. Needless to say, I would highly recommend Tropical Hideaway to those preferring a peaceful, homey retreat while visiting the Big Island.


Absolutely wonderful

Guest Soma through Airbnb stay, August 2015:

Kathleen's Tropical Hideaway was absolutely wonderful. And Kathleen was welcoming both in demeanor and how she is detailed with information on the area; places to eat and how far away, places to explore and directions, etc. I felt very secure as a solo female traveler. Tropical Hideaway felt like my own "home" with complete privacy and view of the ocean. Everything I needed was right there in the full kitchen, along with the ocean air and great vibe. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful, so if you're wanting to rejuvenate in body, mind, and spirit this is the place to stay. Kathleen has true Aloha spirit. Thank you Kathleen. This is my home away from home, and thank you for helping me feel welcomed and at home. This is the place I will come to when I'm visiting, and if I live here, I'd come visit anyway!


Flawless relaxation in a natural setting

Guest Vincent, VBRO 5 star, August 10, 2015

Believe all of the positive reviews that you read about this place. I can't believe 10 months have gone by since we stayed here on our honeymoon, but it really was the highlight of our trip to the Hawaiian islands. Within close proximity to wonderful snorkelling at Two Step, the Tropical Hideaway is a fully equipped self contained dwelling. We had the pool to ourselves, from which there are great vistas. The outdoor shower was so refreshing, and the kitchen really is fully equipped (not a token kitchenette). The Big Island has so much to offer and the Tropical Hideaway was the perfect base from which to explore it. Great stay Guest Matthew, June 2015 Stayed here for three nights. Had a great stay and would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for something different than a resort. Great location for snorkeling too, plus gear is provided to use.


Just as it says - a Tropical Hideaway

Guest Dave from Colorado, Date of Stay June 6, 2015

Kathy Carr is a delightful host and has built a wonderful little "tropical hideaway" here at Captain Cook on the Kona side of the Big Island. Perfect for one or a couple who wants to avoid the touristy feeling of Kailua and get a sense of what living on the Big Island is all about, especially if you can stay for a few days and explore. Charming studio with queen size bed, outdoor shower, kitchen and suitable toys for snorkeling, boogie boarding, etc. Fresh fruit from the property and a nice hot tub. Great location - 20-30 mins from Kailua and about 45 from South Point with plenty in between. If you are a Four Seasons kind of traveller, then move on, but if you like to immerse yourself in a real island experience in a lovely, very comfortable open air vacation rental, then I recommend the Tropical Hideaway wholeheartedly.


Heaven in Hawaii

Guest Steve, Date of Stay May 24, 2015

We've stayed at the Tropical Hideaway several times over the last 15 years, and will be back many more times. It is a lovely space, with the feeling of Hawaii, and in my favorite neighborhood of the Big Island. The studio was wonderful 15 years ago, and it's even better after the recent renovations. This is the ideal place to stay for snorkelers, being just a few minutes up the road from the best snorkeling on the Big Island. The combination of privacy and openness in the lush property really brings out the Hawaii experience. The amenities are very pleasant, enough to cook for ourselves. The outdoor shower is fantastic, with views of the ocean. And it comes with friendly (outdoor) cats!


A truly delightful oasis on Hawaii's Big Island

Guest Canadian Ecotraveler, Date of Stay in March 2015

This is a wonderful little home away from home. It is near some amazing snorkelling and cultural sites. It is quiet and charming. The dipping pool is a real treat and so is the hot tub. We cooked all our meals in the little kitchen and loved our week here. If we ever have the good fortune to return to Hawaii we'd love to come back. Kathleen is generous about sharing her local knowledge and the gift of fresh papayas was a lovely surprise. Our 10 year-old daughter just loved it here too!


Tropical Hideaway was our tropical heaven

Guest Melissa, Date of Stay in January 2015

Tropical Hideaway was our tropical heaven....fresh papaya, banana, excellent access to early morning snorkelling sights, refreshing afternoon breeze & an evening hot tub. What more do you need in paradise? The owner, Kathleen was friendly & helpful. Bungalow type accommodations had everything you need. Mahalo!


A very comfortable home

Guests Susan and Michael, Date of Stay January 11, 2015

This is a very comfortable home and has beautiful scenery. Kathy is warm and generous. After hiking the hot tub is wonderful. Every day fresh fruits. And in the night we see many stars while lying in bed. Thanks for this paradise!


A true Hawaiian experience

Guest Julie from Airbnb, Date of Stay November 26, 2014

Kathy was a wonderful host, providing much Aloha to us upon arrival. The property was even more wonderful than depicted online. A true Hawaiian experience without all the tourists and sterile hotel environs. What Julie loved about your listing: Privacy, Hawaiian experience, hot tub, beach gear, fruit trees, everything else was simply perfect!


Tropical Hideaway

Guest Susan, Date of Stay September 15, 2014

We just returned from a lovely stay at the Tropical Hideaway. This was a wonderful place to enjoy the beauty of the Kona Coast. Kathy, the owner, has thoughtfully provided many extras to enhance your stay. The bed was very comfortable and the hot tub was a great way to relax after diving or touring all day. Even when it rained you could enjoy outdoor dining on the covered patio. I also got very used to the out door shower . It was very nice to have basic condiment and some supplies like sunscreen and band aides in case you forgot or just ran out. Kathy is very pleasant and has an insiders knowledge of the best places to see, eat or buy coffee. I really enjoyed the pool after diving or sightseeing as it was refreshingly cool at 70 degrees. The place is just minutes away from the City of Refuge Park, the Painted Church, and the glorious two step beach. We went snorkeling every morning that we we not diving. You can get in a beautiful snorkel and return to the Hideaway to enjoy a breakfast of mango, papaya and bananas provided free from Kathy's yard. The washer and dryer were very confident and really reduces the amount of clothes you need to bring. We loved this place so much we are recommending it to our daughters and all our friends.


Awesome rainforest studio

Guest Lauren G., Date of Stay August 23, 2014

I travelled to the Big Island for a two week holiday. I wanted to explore the island so stayed in 4 different locations. On the south Kona coast I spent 5 very enjoyable nights in the "Tropical Hideaway". I would recommend spending at least a few days in this area for its proximity to great snorekeling at 2-step (a 5 munite drive down the hill from the studio) and Captain Cook Monument as well as to enjoy the quiet, laid back cooler environment of this lush area. I loved the tropical hideaway. It is a very cute studio apartment with its own patio and garden area. The shower is outdoors and super cool, gives one a Robinson Crusoe feeling. The windows of the studio are simply screens, no glass. This allows for lovely cooling breezes and no air conditioning or even a fan are required for a pleasant relaxing sleep. The patio is covered, so even if it is raining (which can happen later in the day) you can still sit outside and enjoy the outdoors. By day I enjoyed visits from the resident cats, geckos, and even a really cool snail. Kathy the owner and resident of the main house on the property is extremely friendly and gracious and helpful, however, is totally respectful of your privacy. She has a lovely property filled with tropical plants and fruit trees, some of which you are able to eat if in season. I would highly recommend a stay at this tranquil paradise, and hope that I have the chance to return one day.


What a wonderful surprise

Guest Victorygal, Date of Stay August 12, 2014

I’ve enjoyed my stay at your hideaway much more than I expected. I had only planned the trip here to attend a wedding that fell through….. I decided that I hadn’t had a real vacation, with nothing to do and nothing expected of me for longer than I can remember. (if ever???) So I went ahead and came to Hawaii. I scanned the internet for something off the beaten track and your place seemed to fit the bill. At least on paper…. So you can imagine my delight in finding this perfect little nest in paradise when I arrived. I had no idea what I’d need so I threw a ton of stuff in a suitcase and figured I’d buy what ever else I needed when I got there. I could have shown up with the clothes on my back, hopefully a bathing suit underneath and I would have been fine. It’s as if I brought my little house and dropped it down in paradise. The only thing missing were my kitties to sleep with. You made it so easy to find my way around to all the best spots for snorkeling, shopping, sight seeing etc. Instead of spending most of my limited time here, trying to find my way around, my week was spent exploring and enjoying all the wonderful little bits of paradise South Kona has to offer. The little touches on your hideaway, such as the door handle on the screen door, the very comfy bed, the festive accent lighting, all made my stay not only homey and comfortable but special and festive. The perfect combination. Thank you.


This was my first experience booking a private rental rather than a hotel and I wouldn't go back to a hotel.

Guest Lloyd, Date of Stay July 1, 2014

Driving up the steep driveway to the hideaway you are completely enveloped in a lush green corridor of tropical foliage that makes this property feel very removed from the nearby road. As the jungle corridor opens up towards the top of the hill, revealed is a landscaped yet informal tropical garden. All kinds of tropical fruits adorn the trees and shrubs. Deliciously ripe mangos, papayas and bananas litter the ground, begging to be eaten. In fact the tropical garden is so big Kathleen employs a full-time gardener who lives on site to tend to it. KT the gardener was waiting for us as we pulled up in front of the main house. My partner and I were given a warm welcome followed by a tour around the property. The tropical hideaway itself, as described on Kathleen’s website, is a Hawaiian style studio apartment. It’s fully self-contained with a full-sized fridge and cooking utensils as well as a selection of condiments. It has a super comfy bed and screaming fast WiFi as well as a smart TV with Netflix – a real treat for Australian’s yet to experience the goodness of free streaming TV shows and movies. Having said that the TV didn’t get much use. The apartments best feature is not the TV or the WiFi, it’s the connection with nature. The apartment is completely open to the air, there is no glass, just screening on 3 of the 4 walls to keep the bugs (and Geckos!) out. That’s something you wouldn’t get in a hotel. Outside is a veranda looking into the dense jungle – a BBQ area and a private hot-tub, always set to a toasty 100 degrees Fahrenheit. Also outside is the shower, surrounded by bamboo screening – privacy is not an issue. Hot water on demand and views through the garden to the pacific make for a less-routine than usual showering experience! Wander the property and there are numerous nooks to explore, each full of new surprises and new fruits to eat. There is also a shared pool higher up on the property which has a great view out over the pacific sunsets. It’s made from a converted cistern so it’s well over 3 meters deep, which makes it a fun place to get away from the hot mid-day sun. The Tropical Hideaway Hawaii was more than I expected. You get so much more from a private rental than you can from even the high-end hotels. The hospitality and small touches from sharing a property with someone who has obviously worked hard for it and loves their lifestyle providing people with this unique experience cannot be replicated by a resort.


Very private and homey

Guest Kate A. Date of stay 02/17/14

We were very comfortable in this homey and private indoor /outdoor space. Everything we needed was at hand and we especially enjoyed using the snorkel gear at nearby "2 steps". We found great fish to BBQ at The Fish Bowl. The private hot tub was a nightly treat before a great sleep, surrounded by tropical sounds and foliage. Naturally cool day and night -no unpleasant air conditioning required-open air living was wonderful.


Great spot

Date of stay 02/03/14

We've been renting VRBO's in this part of the big island since 2001. This is our favorite so far. While we haven't gone back to any of the others for various reasons, I'm sure we'd rent this one again. The location is ideal if you're interested in snorkeling. Also close to the best farm stand on the island (South Kona Fruit Stand). Kathy is very respectful of your privacy and very generous with the fruit and veggies she grows on the property. Be prepared for gecko's, frogs and roosters crowing - they're part of the charm of the place. If you don't like these things...rent a condo in Kona. One of the best places I ever stayed at! Date of Stay in January 2014 My wife and I really enjoyed our time at the charming tropical hideaway. In my opinion it is just not describable with words - you have to experience the place yourself to really understand. The fact that there are no windows (just fly-screens) is unusual and sounds kind of weird - at least for people like us coming from an area where you have really cold winters. But in Big island Hawaii this is just fine. In January we had temperatures in the mid sixties at night, so we slept really recreative. We were curious whether or not all the animals would disturb our sleep - but it just did not happen. It was wonderful. The place itself is very clean and beautiful equipped. You have a kitchen with all the utensils you need for cooking and an outdoor BBQ. Speaking about the outdoor stuff: We really enjoyed the outdoor shower and the Hot Tub! So if I have the choice to stay in a hotel or in this beautiful hideaway I would definitely go for the hideaway! Thank you Kathy for the wonderful time! One last info for planning your vacation on Big Island: If you are willing to see much of the island, plan enough time! The island is called Big Island for a reason - it takes a day to drive around it!


Perfect retreat

Date of stay 01/06/14

We stayed at the Tropical Hideaway for five days in January. It was a perfect retreat in a private garden with its own hot tub and outdoor shower. Screened windows (without glass) allowed us to feel the breezes and hear the birds in the morning. We needed sweaters in the evening, and enjoyed the hot tub at night. Laundry facilities on the property make everything easy. The location is ideal, and we snorkeled at Two Step three mornings. Kathy is friendly and helpful, and gave us fresh papayas and bananas from the garden for breakfast. I've already recommended Tropical Hideaway to family and friends, and we would definitely stay there again.


Tropical Hideaway is perfect for anyone who loves nature

Victor Review on Airbnb for a December 2013 stay

Tropical Hideaway is perfect for anyone who loves nature. We loved the screened-in style studio because we could enjoy the warm Hawaiian air 24 hours a day. The hot tub, outdoor shower, and freshly-picked fruit were nice assets. Kathleen was kind and generous and a great local resource.


Tropical Hideaway the perfect vacation

Review on Flipkey 12/19/2013 for a stay in November 2013

I can't recommend highly enough Tropical Hideaway. The location is amazing, just two miles from Two-Step, an amazing snorkeling sight. I swam with Spinner Doplhins almost everyday of my stay there. The accommodations were very pleasant; the bedroom had a screened in porch so you felt like you were outside and very comfortable. The outside shower was private and the hot tub very welcome after swimming. The gardens are beautiful and there are many chairs and tables where you can lounge and enjoy the serenity. There are a variety of restaurants eight to ten miles away. The owner/manager was very helpful; she has much information about the dolphins and other aspects of the island. I would highly recommend this vacation home to my family and friends.


Garden hideaway

Date of stay 11/21/13

This rental is a delightful garden room in the lower level of a traditional Hawaiian country frame house. Private, screened on all sides opening to a lush garden. The owner lives in the premises and is very respectful of the privacy of her guests yet responsive if issues arise. (She upgraded the TV during our stay although for our purposes the old CRT was fine.). The historic Painted Church is a short walk away. The unit is conveniently located 1-2 miles up the road from Puuhonua o Honaunau and a similar distance from excellent dive sites. Kathy, the property owner, can be retained to lead you if you wish and in any event has a wide selection of beach and snorkeling gear that guests can freely use.


An amazing vacation at Tropical Hideaway

Guest Susan Date of stay 11/13/13

I was totally delighted with my stay. The sleeping porch was wonderful, like sleeping outside with screen. Ir was wonderful to go swim with the dolphins at TwoStep and then come back, only two miles and take an outdoor shower and hot tub. The ground are beautiful and kept up by a resident gardener. There are a few wonderful places to sit and enjoy the garden. The owner/ manager, Kathy was very helpful. Everyday she would let me know if the dolphins were in the Bay. She is a great wild life photographer and helpful with any information you might want.The dolphins were there three 6 of the 8 days that I stayed there. The restaurants, down route 11, were fine, from gourmet to hamburgers. I would definitely highly recommend this property to anyone.


A Tropical Hideaway that lives up to its name!

Guest Chris W. Date of stay 11/03/13

This place was incredible and I can definitely see why 'tropical' and 'hideaway' were used to name it. It's very private (although not completely as Kathleen's living quarters are right above) because you're surrounded by lush green vegetation. The shower is outside but you never have to worry about anyone seeing you because they can't. We stayed here 5 nights and used the hot tub 10 times - it's such a treat after a long day of tourism. Instead of glass windows this little studio has screens, making you feel like you are indeed in the middle of a tropical forest but still protected from mosquitoes. It's such a great feeling lying in bed and listening to all the different sounds around you. The location of Tropical Hideaway is perfect. Situated in the middle of the Kona side, you can easily drive south down to Black Sand Beach, Green Sand Beach and South Point, or north up to the town centre of Kailua-Kona for some shopping. Then just down the road you can go to the Place of Refuge, which is en excellent place to snorkel. I would definitely recommend this property to others, although it's not suited to everyone (e.g. high maintenance people who can't deal with nature). It's ideal for young couples like us because you get a lot for your money. The owner Kathleen is very friendly and willing to help with anything. She gave us our privacy but if we ever needed anything all we had to do was knock on her door. Don't hesitate any longer, book this place now, you won't be disappointed!


Incredible experience

Pattie Harvard Review on 10/31/2013 for a stay in October 2013

This is a tropical paradise. It is very private. The frogs are chirping at night, lulling you to sleep, with the warm breezes caressing you and the incredible smells wafting in and out of the place. It was clean and cozy. There was fresh fruit every morning picked out of their own gardens. I thoroughly loved our place and was sad to leave. It is close to everything, from snorkeling, coffee ranches, beautiful sunsets etc. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants a unique place to stay in Hawaii.


EVERYTHING and MORE!

Guest RandD (Sugarloaf) Date of stay 10/19/13

For a quiet retreat with outdoor living as a focus, Tropical Hideaway cannot be beat. My wife and I found the property to be magical, very clean, landscaping is gorgeous, and well thought out. The privacy was delightful for such a reasonable price. Kathy is a very thoughtful and natural host. You can't go wrong if you want to relax and enjoy this little piece of heaven. Exactly what we wanted Sarah Review on Airbnb for a September 2013 stay Exactly what we wanted and hoped for! The Tropical Hideaway was minutes away from Two Step beach, the best snorkeling on the island. And the studio itself - just gorgeous. They have everything you could ask for - masks, snorkels, fins, boogie boards, beach chairs, kitchen, washer/dryer, and a great outdoor shower overlooking the ocean. The studio was very tidy and clean. There were many tropical flowers and fruits which they shared with us. We made use of the private hot tub, which was quite nice. Never jumped in the pool. If we return to the Big Island, we would definitely stay here again! Thank you!


Paradise!

catsongs BWI Review on Flipkey 07/11/2013 for a stay in June 2013

If you're a five-star Ritzy hotel kinda person, this isn't for you. But if you're something of a traveler, something of an adventurer, someone who likes something a little different, this is paradise! We loved being south of Kailua-Kona, away from that scene. As snorkelers, we loved being close to Captain Cook and Two Step. As folks who cook for themselves, we appreciated the cooking facilities. Kathy is a wonderful, privacy-granting host. In addition to the "open air" architecture, we enjoyed the hot tub and pool, as well as the piles of mangoes ready for eating. Wi-fi was great. Beautiful garden. We'll be going back!


Tropical Hideaway is Tropical Paradise

Paulina N Vancouver, Canada Review on Flipkey 04/21/2013 for a stay in March 2013

Tropical Hideaway is exquisite! Our 3-1/2-week stay in this charming and tastefully decorated studio was perfect - from the peaceful sound of the breeze in the palm fronds during the night, the songs of the birds each morning, the warm air wafting through the screens, the sunsets, the glow of the full moon spilling into the studio and over the garden, the fragrance of the jasmine outside, the lush foliage all around, the allspice tree to sit under... to the snorkeling a few moments away, oceanside sunsets or simply watching them from the studio, the nearby Peace Gardens (outstanding!) and Painted Church, farmer's markets, roadside fruit stands, exploring the island... heavenly. The owner, Kathleen, is a lovely spirit who was always responsive to any questions or requests we had, and made us feel totally welcome. The studio was cosy and comfortable and provided all of the amenities described. We enjoyed the outdoor grill for the fresh-caught ono we bought at the farmer's market, and loved the outdoor shower! The other residents of the property, KT and Phil, enhanced our visit with their warmth, and our privacy was always totally respected by everyone. Thank you, Kathleen, for creating such a peaceful haven - it's not a matter of "if" we come back - it's only a matter of "when"!


Absolutely wonderful, restful, beautiful stay...

Guest: Jeff (Brooklyn, NY) Date of Stay: 02/19/13

My wife and I stayed for a week at the studio. It is a tough place to leave! The hot tub absolutely spoiled us (and was amazing for those slightly colder winter evenings), and the available snorkel gear was much appreciated. We fell into a routine of early morning snorkel followed by breakfast followed for a beach or downtown Kailua-Kona visit, which is a wonderful way to spend a day. Kathy was a very gracious and helpful host. The screened-in accommodations make for an immersive and wholly unique way to experience Hawaii. We highly recommend it!


A most memorable place!

Guest: Wide World Vancouver (Vancouver, B.C., Canada) Date of Stay: 01/22/13

We enjoyed our stay at Tropical Hideaway immensely. Its magical setting amidst lush jungle vegetation made for a unique experience, so much more enjoyable than a hotel or a traditional B&B. Screen windows allowed warm breezes to waft throughout and meant that we could hear wonderful birdsong in the morning & evening. The well-stocked, totally self-contained unit is both quiet and private. Kathy [the owner] offered us papayas, bananas and star fruit fresh-picked from her garden, and provided much gear to make our stay enjoyable – snorkels, masks, fins, wetsuits, beach umbrella & chairs. She even took me on an excursion where I got to swim with dolphins – hundreds of them! This was one of the most exciting experiences of my life, and Kathy documented the whole thing with her underwater camera, providing me with a priceless memento of the day. We also had nice connections with Katie & Phil, who were staying elsewhere on the property. Along with Kathy, they made us feel as if we were visiting with friends, even though they were great about respecting our privacy. Our only regret is that we weren’t able to stay longer!


Perfect for informal privacy, beauty, and dolphins!

Guest: David (Ashland, Oregon) Date of Stay: 01/06/13

The bay at Two-Step is a three minute car ride down the hill from Kathy's "Tropical Hideway," and it's one of the places where the spinner dolphins most like to hang out, play, dance on the water, and swim with the humans. The extraordinary, transformative, and sheer delight of snorkling with these amazing beings is a really unusual opportunity. Kathy has been swimming with them for years and knows both where and how to best approach them. The "tropical hideaway" is a perfect complement and base for this experience.

Kathy has created a lovely, inviting, charming, and, yet non-pretentious "nest" in the midst of a beautiful and lush tropical garden. (And, if swimming with dolphins doesn't appeal, there is lots else to do in the area or just delight in relaxing!) The fresh-water pool, the outdoor, private sitting/dining area and private hot-tub, make this a place which invites deep relaxation and a spaciousness of mind and heart that is both very welcome and unusual.

The blend of beauty, privacy, graciousness, and lack of pretension, makes this a wonderful place for a single person to retreat or even work or write, a couple to delight in the restfulness and spacious privacy, or a small family to feel easy and at-home. Kathy is friendly and incredibly helpful in making one's stay meet one's specific needs, knowing the area as well as she does. The relatively new Kona Cafe, a few minutes up the road, serves wonderful breakfast and lunch on their outdoor patio, and high quality dinner restaurants are also easy to find in the Kona area, IF you want a break from cooking in your own kitchen and outdoor grill!

Adjoining the two-step bay is the Place of Refuge, a National Historic Park, which has its own deep Hawaiian history and amazing beauty of extensive lava rock meeting the ocean. Worth the explore! An added, and expected, delight. With no question, I would recommend Kathy's "Tropical Hideway" to anyone seeking deep relaxation, beauty, and the opportunity to experience the presence of the wild dolphins.


A little piece of heaven

Guest: Sage (Portland. Oregon) Date of Stay: 12/07/12

We stayed 3 nights on this property and were in heaven. My husband and I travel quite a bit using VRBO and Airbnb. This is our best find yet! and here's why: Privacy: Even though the owner's live on site they make a specific intention to keep a quiet relaxing environment. The pool & hot tub on site can be used anytime, and the owner's do not use it when they have VRBO guests. You really feel like you have the place to yourself. Environment: the grounds are filled with plants, and each morning there is fresh seasonal fruit from the property laid out for you to pick from. We enjoyed papaya's, banana's and a tropical lemon while there. Location: 30 min drive to Kona, but only 10 min to Captain Cook for groceries. Biggest plus is 5 mins to the best local snorkeling area where we got to swim with dolphins. We hope to return to this magical spot again. A great place to just hang out on the property all day reading by the pool, but also with easy access to activities.


Great getaway rental outside of downtown Kona

Guest: rjnedrow (Seattle) Date of Stay: 11/28/12

My lady and I stayed here for a week and it was everything that we wanted. If you're paranoid about total privacy than this may not be the spot for you as there are no closing windows, all the walls are screens instead, but they do have curtains that cover everything if you want. This place literally puts you in the middle of an authentic Hawaiian experience. It's a bit of a drive from downtown Kona, and seemingly everything else, but that's what we were looking for. The amenities were great! The BBQ gave us the option to not have to eat out every meal, plus there is a ton of fresh fruit on the property that is free for the taking. The hot tub and outdoor shower are great fun. They have snorkeling gear we used the whole week, and the owners gave us tips on the best beaches and even called to let us know which beach the dolphins were at one morning. We drove out there and got to swim with a "small" pod of about 30 dolphins at Hookena beach. What an experience! They have everything you need in the kitchen as well. I couldn't recommend this more for a couple who is looking for an exhilarating alternative to the condos in downtown Kailua-Kona.


A wonderful week

Guest: Ernie (Riverside, CA) Date of Stay: 10/29/12

I was preparing to spend the week on the Big Island for a work project, and after checking the popular hotels and resorts in and around Kona, I decided to look on VRBO. When I saw the pictures and read the description of the Tropical Hideaway, I thought it would be a much more enjoyable and authentic experience than a resort, and I booked the room for the week. I arrived around dinner time on Monday and was immediately met by Kathy, who was wonderfully gracious and showed me around the property, and then let me know she would give me my privacy unless I needed anything. The pictures on this site are a good representation of what to expect, but they really don't do the place justice. The room is screened all the way around, and I loved being able to feel the breeze and listen to the wildlife outside all day and night. The garden is beautiful and the views of the sunset and the moon over the ocean were amazing. The bed was very comfortable, and the outdoor shower was a new experience for me, but very enjoyable. I took advantage of the private hot tub as often as possible! Kathy's own original art and the mood lighting everywhere really add a nice tropical feel to the studio. The permanent residents of the home were very quiet and respectful, and the few times I met them, they were very nice. She even helped me with a great recommendation to spend Halloween evening in Kona since I couldn't be home with my kids! There are lots of great restaurants nearby, and although I didn't have time to enjoy many activities outside of work, there are lots to choose from. If you're looking at one of the big resorts with the canned artificial tourist experience, forget it and stay here instead - you'll never forget it.


Perfect place to live the Hawaiian dream!

Guest: Sebastien Date of Stay: 09/22/12

Our stay at Kathy's place was a dream. We spent 5 days to start a 2 weeks stay in Hawaii for our honeymoon and we couldn't have dreamt for a better place. The place is perfectly clean, Kathy provides everything you need from snorkeling gear, to foam boards, beach towels and basically everything you need to enjoy Big Island. She has a great garden and gave us many fruits including papayas, lime and avocados. She gave us great recommendations about restaurants and made herself available when needed: the perfect host ! We highly recommend this place!


Beautiful, tranquil & great location

Guest: Eden (Laguna) Date of Stay: 09/19/12

We loved our stay at Tropical Hideaway! Kathy is wonderful and the space is nicely decorated, very clean, and we loved that it was open to the outdoors (but with screens). Hearing the wind and birds and all the wonderful sounds of nature was a beautiful way to fall asleep and wake up. And the flowers on the property are gorgeous! We especially loved the hot tub and outdoor shower, and the privacy of it all. Not to mention all the fresh fruit (mangoes, bananas, papayas) from the surrounding trees she left out for us to eat. Its a wonderful, simple and down to earth place to stay in a good location near the beaches.


Unique Experience

Guest: Mariana (Toronto) Date of Stay: 08/31/12

We believed we will see Hawaii then, who knows if we'll ever come back. We saw the dolphins, swam with them, were impressed by the unspoken respect for nature shown by Kathy and all those lucky ones blessed to permanently live on this big island. If you go, don't forget to ask Kathy for the DVD made by her with dolphins playing under water. Great artistic value, excellent HD quality and clarity, inspired sound track. We were pleasantly surprised that over there, you don’t need a key to your home since it’s practically wrapped in a anti bug screen. And yes, we were reminded to keep the door closed, after all it’s all jungle around and small bugs can get in.

We are late with our review, but everything is still fresh in our memories. We got acquainted with the sounds of the night, especially distinguishing those short ones made by ripen passion fruits falling to the ground from the rich vines surrounding Kathy's place. Those fruits became part of our breakfast in the morning, together with the bananas, mangos, guavas, papayas and a tropical plum tree with fruits they didn't know were edible.

If you want to see the dolphins coming to rest and play, you need to wake up early and you can find from Kathy in which of the 3 coves they are. The locals seem to be all friends and call each other in this regard. We have talked to so many of them without even knowing their names, and we believe they also make sure tourists are following the rules to protect the wild, and they don't attempt to touch the playing dolphins. According to some new theories dolphins may be more intelligent than the humans ....... What else can you see on the island ? 7 days was not enough for us. To say that the island inhabitants, and we mean not only Kathy, are so helpful and friendly it's an understatement. We spent the next 10 days in Maui, it was great, but our hearts beat stronger for this big island where nature is manifesting its splendor and it’s expansion is unleashed. love the place, love you Kathy, Mariana and Florin


PHOTOGRAPHER

Guest: maggie (eastampton,nj) Date of Stay: 08/21/12

OMG!!!!! This is my new favorite place to stay in the world.It is exactly like the photos,and Kathleen is PHENOMENAL.I am so sorry we only could stay one night,next time will be much longer. Words could never express the beauty of the grounds,and the feeling of calm.You don't need any attractions,just being there was a vacation.


LOVELY

Guest: dolphin lover (Northern California) Date of Stay: 04/20/12

We had a very lovely stay there. Very peaceful, serene, private and Kathy is WONDERFUL! Our objective was to swim with the wild Dolphins every day and that we did. This property is located very close to two step, a dolphin resting area, and to Ho-okena beach another resting place for the dolphins and to kalakakuka bay. We have WONDERFUL UNDER WATER VIDEOS of the dolphins, at rest, at play, nursing babies and the "Leaf Game"! We will be coming back next year!!!!!!!

Fit for King Kamehameha

Guest: Greg S. Date of Stay: 04/02/12

Exceeded our expectations: snorkeling close by (Two-Step beach and Captain Cook Monument), situated in a lush tropical garden of banana, guava, avocado trees. The plumeria trees in full bloom when we arrived. Very quiet until the morning when the tropical birds charm you into the day, that was beautiful. We cooked all our meals in the hideaway; the kitchen had everything needed, even a coffee grinder for fresh Kona beans from a local farmer. Ah! Kathy greeted us when we arrived, showed where everything was and recommended many places to visit, and left us alone the rest of our stay. This is a place King Kamehameha would have felt at home.

Many cafes and restaurants are close by, and all the ones we went to were gourmet -- homemade delicacies, catch of the day, relaxing atmosphere. Best place to rent a kayak is on the bay, so you can go right in and not transport one from the highway. This cottage is ideal location because we could take day trips to see things on this side of the Big Island, including Kealakekua Bay (where Captain Cook met his demise), Painted Church, Pu'uhonua o Honaunau (Hawaiian Place of Refuge) with fabulous coconut grove, and many beaches to check out. Our place was clean, towels provided. If more stayed in places like this, the health industry would shrink considerably.


Just great

Peter, Zurich Switzerland.  Review on 03/12/2012 for a stay in March 2012

We enjoyed our 7 days here very much. So lively close to nature without closed windows and the outside shower made it to the paradise. Kathleen's help from booking to our leaving day was a great help. It is everything here that you need. Beach towels and snorkeling equipment and a lot more. There is everything in the kitchen. If we ever come to Hawai again we will stay here. Sorry for my limited English. I'm Swiss.


Lovely In Every Way

Guest: marion n. Date of Stay: 02/07/12

I spent 4 nights at Tropical Hideaway last month. It was a great base for experiencing this incredible part of the Big Island. The studio was very clean, the kitchen well equiped and lots of little touches throughout made it feel like home. The many colorful strands of lights made for a cool, cozy atmosphere at night. The grounds are beautiful and I enjoyed having breakfast in my own private garden . I loved seeing the full moon and the outline of the palm trees from the bed. The filtered water was nice (convenient, eco friendly and free!) The robes provided a touch of luxury! I enjoyed sunning by the pool in the late afternoon and sunsets at the Place of Refuge, just minutes away. I bought most of my groceries at Bong Brothers and the nearby fruit stand. The absolute highlight of my trip was swimming with the dolphins. Kathy took me out the first morning. The ocean was pretty rough, but we were able to see some dolphin and I felt comfortable going back alone on a calmer day after Kathy's guidance that first morning. On my last morning, I had the most incredible experience of swimming with many dolphin (20+) for over an hour. Just beautiful and unforgettable!!!!! I'm hooked and will return to this special spot.


Just what I needed...a slice of Hawaiian paradise

 KC Arroyo Grande, CA Review on 12/15/2011 for a stay in November 2011

I was fortunate to be able to stay in the studio at Tropical Hideaway during a week-long stay while attending a workshop. The location is rural/residential and the setting is lush and tropical.The studio itself is traditional Hawaiian-style of screened in living space, facing out onto a private yard and garden. There is a platform bed with lovely linens and duvet, private bath and dressing area, nice kitchenette and eating area. This all faces out onto a private patio with gas grill, table and chairs, and hot tub. This property is located just minutes from several historic and picturesque sites (Paleaku Peace Gardens, St. Benedict's Painted Church, and the Place of Refuge,) as well as snorkeling and diving. And because of the orientation of this property, the sunsets are renowned! Within a 5-15 minute drive there is a grocery store, coffee houses, restaurants, and other local shopping. I think this a perfect place for a single or couple. It is an ideal setting for an artist or writer who is in need of solitude, quiet and beauty. It would work for a small family too. If it is the glitz of the Kona Coast Resorts you are after, this isn't it, I told my husband before I left that if I didn't come home he'd know where to find me...I'll be back!


Beautiful Place to Stay

Guest: Susan & Mike (Fair Grove, MO) Date of Stay: 10/04/11

We just spent 7 nights at the Tropical Hideaway and had a wonderful time. The grounds are beautiful, it is very private and you have your own hot tub and BBQ. The property is tucked away off the road and sheltered by beautiful gardens. There are mango, papaya, banana and avocado trees that you are encouraged to enjoy. It is a nice walk to cafe that has great espresso and there is a great fruit stand next door. The beach is a short drive or a healthy walk away. There is wonderful snorkeling and dolphins at two-step bay. Kathy is a lovely hostess. She is very thoughtful about your privacy and making you feel comfortable while you are there. Everything you need for the beach is available for you to use: chairs, mats, towels, snorkeling equipment, boogie boards. The Hideaway has everything you need to make simple meals. I was able to master the art of hot-plate cooking while I was there. There is also a toaster oven and microwave as well as the BBQ!. We were able to save a lot of money cooking our own meals instead of eating out 3 times a day. If you like a little adventure this is the place for you. It is clean and the decor is cute. It sort of took me back to the 70's when we were trying to live a "natural life." I really appreciate the fact that Kathy uses green technology at the Hideaway. 40% of the electricity is from solar, as well as all of the hot water. There is recycling and organic material is composted. Thanks Kathy we had a great time!


HEAVENLY!

Guest: D - Nice (Glorieta, NM) Date of Stay: 09/23/11

Tropical Hideaway was a complete dream come true. The beauty and hospitality was amazing, along with the breathtaking views and sunsets. The place was super clean and comfortable. I exceptionally loved the ambiance and decorations. I completely feel in love with the entire place. The location couldn't have been better. Located just 3 miles from the best snorkeling ever, also "The Place of Refuge" National park was mind-blowingly Beautiful and stunning to learn about. The swimming pool and hot-tub was like the iceing on the cake! Thank you for such an exquisite place to offer people. I feel truly blessed to have found this place. This will always be my "Go-To Special Anniversary Place!"

Magical

Review on 10/01/2011 for a stay in September 2011

Our time at Tropical Hideaway was completely priceless and Treasured! What an amazing gem to find. The place was extremely clean and comfortable, and the ambiance/decorations and not to forget the sunsets, where to die for! The privacy was exceptional. But yet it was only a 2 mile drive to the most amazing snorkeling I have ever experienced. Everything you would need is just a few miles drive. Lovely farmers markets and fun macadamia nut factories, coffee shops and corner stores too. The swimming pool and hot tub are like the iceing on the cake! Thank you Kathy and Katy for wonderful conversations and a vacation of a lifetime! I will hold Tropical hideaway in my Heart forever!


Splendor at Honaunau: Exceptional Lodging & Snorkeling

Guest: Cior (San Francisco) Date of Stay: 08/13/11

After visiting 3 islands, I can confirm that our week at Honaunau was the best. The hideaway is a unique opportunity to enjoy the benefits of camping in terms of fresh island breezes, the sounds of nature and the view of lush gardens without the hardships of sleeping outdoors. Inside, the hideaway offers all of the comforts of a home with a real bed and furniture, ample kitchenette, running water and flush toilet in the bathroom. It truly is the best of all worlds -- close to nature with the convenience of indoor amenities. For modern comforts, the hideaway offered reliable and speedy wireless internet along with a television, DVD player and small stereo. The private outdoor shower was a special treat, as the scents of nearby flowers are carried on the breeze through the beautiful hand-built bamboo enclosure. It provided a convenient place to get clean each morning after visiting the beach.

The private patio also features a new hot tub spa, which was very clean and in pristine condition. We had a great time using the outdoor grass grill to make dinners for ourselves. The grocery up the road from Honaunau offered local island steaks, fresh caught ono fish and an amazing array of organic vegetables and fruits. The kitchenette inside had every thoughtful detail or cooking utensil we needed.

A short walk up the driveway leads to a private pool shared by Kathy at the main house. It's not exclusive to the unit like the private spa on the patio, but each time we went swimming we were lucky to have the pool to ourselves, and we imagine it would've been easy to request private time at the pool, if desired. It's a unique pool, possibly a former water catchment converted to a deep soaking pool. The pool is surrounded by lush gardens, and was a beautiful setting for outdoor relaxation.

Kathy is an incredible host. She was very welcoming, informative and also respectful of our privacy. Her spirit made is feel instantly comfortable and at peace, and she was very helpful when it came to local recommendations. Kathy also offers guided snorkel trips. We were lucky to experience swimming with wild dolphins at Honaunau with Kathy, which will be a special lifelong memory for us. Lastly, the hideaway is a 2-3 mile drive from Honaunau Bay, also called Two-Step. Here, we experienced the best snorkeling of our entire trip -- easy entry to the water, protected bay, impeccable quantity and variety of fish, turtles, dolphins. We are already plotting our return.


Awesome time!

Adam and Emily - Date of Stay: August 6, 2011

It was great! We had an awesome time, thank you! Lovely place! Shari - Date of Stay: August 3, 2011 This is a lovely place that is very attuned to the natural beauty of Hawaii. Peaceful, comfy, beautifully located. Great hostess!


Highly enjoyable!

Hendrik and Annick - Date of Stay: July 28, 2011

The stay at Tropical Hideaway was highly enjoyable. The Studio is very comfortable and pleasant. The sense of connection with nature and all tropical delights is very present. The holiday was a highlight. Mahalo!


Best part of our vacation!

Guest: Larky H. (Phoenix, AZ) Date of Stay: 07/16/11

My husband and I stayed at this property in July (2011). We usually don't stay in one location for a trip, but this time we did and it was wonderful. We loved our little cottage. It was so peaceful and beautiful and clean. The property is well maintained. It is lush, loaded with fruit trees and very private. We loved the outdoor shower and the hot tub. The pool was lovely, but we never actually made it in! The location was great. There were many good restaurants nearby. Two step beach and Kealakekua Bay are very nearby. The owner was always easy to reach and always helpful with information. The next time we go to Hawaii, we will definitely stay here again.


It was so great!

Alice and family - Date of Stay: June 25, 2011

It was so great! Thank you for providing everything. What a wonderfully pleasant way to visit this part of the island. Great artwork and dolphins! Oh my gosh! Amazing!


A truly magical place!

Nick and Saskia - Date of Stay: June 20, 2011

A truly magical place! We would recommend Tropical Hideaway to others.


A delightful taste of old Hawaii Dan and Jamie - Date of Stay: June 15, 2011

 An artist's touch applied to a modest retreat that blends perfectly with the elaborate beauty of nature's tropical paradise


We loved every minute!

Andrea and Joel - Date of Stay: June 11, 2011

We loved it, and couldn't imagine a warmer place to stay. We really felt like we were in Hawaii, from the banana and papaya trees to the outdoor shower. We loved every minute. Thank you, Kathy!


Great place to stay

Ian and Laura - Date of Stay: May 24, 2011

Tropical Hideaway was a great place to stay. Very comfortable, and in a great location--close to the beaches, grocery stores, and a great spot to venture out from. It was the perfect place to finish up our perfect 2 week vacation on the island.


Peace and quiet and old Hawaii

Donna - Date of Stay: May 8, 2011

If peace and quiet and old Hawaii is your thing and you want to be very close to some of the best snorkeling on the island, then this is the place. Relaxation at its finest.


A Very Special Place

Mike and Anna - Date of Stay: April 22, 2011

You have created a very special place here. We especially enjoyed waking every morning to the symphony of birds around us, as well as that of the palms. We also appreciated all of the fresh fruit. Thanks for making this such a wonderful trip. Mahalo for the honor, blessing & healing of our month at your perfect tropical hideaway!


Mahalo for the kind spirit of Aloha.

Jan & Jim - Idaho Date of Stay: January 24, 2011

Tropical Hideaway is a very well supplied and cared for piece of paradise - the colors are so soothing & lovely on the eyes - your beautiful photographs - your beautiful soul - Kathy - your grounds honoring & living in harmony with nature - healing gardens with herbs - fruits - florals - garden angels abounding -  I could go on and on, but anyone visiting will have so much more to add to all the good your place feels and is. May we be fortunate to have the pleasure of staying again and will hope others of my family may experience the life changing and healing of your place. My Idaho born and raised husband after every wonderful nights' sleep in the comfortable bed and bedding - would wake up and say to me - he wakes thinking he is in a fairy land. Your location is perfect - your hospitality is perfect. Thank you from the heart. Aloha until we meet again.


This truly is a Tropical Hideaway

Mary and David - Date of Stay: January 23, 2011

As the name implies, this truly is a Tropical Hideaway. You have thought of everything to make the place comfortable and functional. We especially appreciated the hot tub. The beach equipment came in very useful as well. Thanks for making this stretch of our Hawaiian getaway exactly what we envisioned.


A truly wonderful refuge

Ed Radden - Date of Stay: November 8, 2010

A truly wonderful refuge on the Big Island. Loved waking up to blue skies and blue ocean every day.


Enjoyed the fresh bananas!

Eric and Emily Hawbaker - Date of Stay: October 22, 2010

Kathy, thanks for your hospitality. Our stay in the Tropical Hideaway was very pleasant. We especially enjoyed the fresh bananas!


Indoor outdoor living at it's finest

Leslie, sf bay area Date of Stay: October 13, 2010  Rating: 5 out of 5

Kathy showed us the property, told us which of the fruits and garden bounty we could share. PS- freshly picked bananas are just inccredible. She took us out to learn about swimming with the dolfins. Then we had 3 mornings of swimming with them on our own. The place is meticulously maintained as are the hot tubs and small pool. I have been to the Big Island several times and this quickly went to the top of my list for best Hawaian vacation spots.  Kathy is generous and the very spirit of aloha. , Recommended for: Age 55+ , Adventure Seekers , Girls Getaway , Sightseeing , Romantic Getaway


A True Tropical Getaway

Christine and Nick - Date of Stay: October 6, 2010

I don't know if we've ever had such a relaxing vacation in a setting as tranquil and picturesque. This was a true tropical getaway.


Magic! relaxing, healing, sexy hideaway

Andrea & David, Santa Cruz, CA : Date of Stay: September 8, 2010

We just returned from a wonderful 3 weeks on the Big Island and our brief stay at Kathy's Tropical Hideaway was an absolute highlight. Of course the dolphin swim, with Kathy's gentle, easy guidance, is something we will always remember. Now add to that our idyllic screened-in studio, the gracefully designed and utterly lush garden surrounding it, our private hot tub, lovely secluded pool, outdoor shower, mango, banana and other fruit trees ready for our picking, cool cats on the property, and watching the sun set into the ocean from our bed! Oh, the peacefulness of it all.

The place feels rustic/spiritual but unlike some such spots which are spartan, this one had such a thoughtful set of supplies, feeding both creature comforts and aesthetic sensibilities. Every possible need we might have was attended to. Kathy was a beautiful host -- invisible or available according to our desires -- and her book of photos is very special. I feel we have a new friend. (I read the comment about bugs and want to note that we had no such problem. Just keep the screen door closed and don't leave any food out, and I'm certain all will be well. We loved the indoor/outdoor feeling, and believe me, if the bugs had been on the inside I'd be singing a different tune!) Thanks so much, Kathy. We hope to return again and again. (Re review tips & guidelines: yes, accurate listing and descriptions, yes, very clean and well maintained, yes I would certainly recommend it to those I love, try the Keii  restaurant for a great dinner, must visit the Place of Refuge, Painted Church is nice, Two-Step has great snorkeling, and ask Kathy about dolphins. Her notebook of suggestions is very useful; I think all of my suggestions are in there, plus massage therapists and more.

It's a great location, so close to the beaches. I recommended it to pet owners, by the way, not because you can bring yours but because you'll see and maybe have access to her cats, which is nice when you're away from your own.)


Would love to have been able to stay longer!

Guest: Jeffrey Date of Stay: August 15, 2010

Everything we needed was provided and well thought out. We would definitely recommend Tropical Hideaway to others. In addition, the highlight of our stay was being able to swim with the dolphins with Kathy as our guide. She has vast experience with dolphins, which she readily shares. She knows where to find them, and showed us how to interact with them in a respectful way. All in all, our stay was a moving and memorable experience.


I so enjoyed the Hawaiian indoor/outdoor lifestyle

Guest: Elisabeth (Austria) Date of Stay: August 12, 2010

My stay at the Tropical Hideaway this past August was even better than my stay last year. I so enjoyed the Hawaiian indoor/outdoor lifestyle. I was completely comfortable in your studio and garden setting. I especially liked your upgraded hot tub and the beautiful new herb garden in my private yard along with the additional fruit trees that had been planted. It is great to be able to come from the beach and in minutes be sitting poolside at the Topical Hideaway. Kathy, thank you for again supporting me in all questions I had. I look forward to enjoying your place next year and hope it will be available for even a longer stay. Aloha and greetings from Austria


Sweet, charming place

Guest: Meredith Date of Stay: August 11, 2010

This is a sweet, charming place that allows you to experience the tropical beauty of Hawaii while only minutes away from a town.


Truly Wonderously Magical!

Guest: Corinna Date of Stay: August 3, 2010

Tropical Hideaway is truly wondrously magical! Perfect Place Guest: Barbara and Art Date of Stay: June 25, 2010 This is the perfect place and environment for anyone wanting to have a different experience than is found in the typical resort or condo. The quiet open air, privacy and garden setting are relaxing and very enjoyable. Also, the location is a good compromise between the hustle of Kona and the wild beauty of the Hilo and Puna coast.


Lovely stay, hope to come back soon!

Guest: Walker and Karin Date of Stay: April 23, 2010

We had a lovely stay. The space is very tranquil and natural. It's wonderful waking up on a sunny morning to cool breezes and chirping birds, watching sunsets from bed, having breakfast in the yard. The entire property is very well maintained and attractive with a distinctly tropical feel. We hope to come back soon!


 Awesome getaway.

The pictures and description were completely accurate so if this looks like something you would enjoy it would be perfect. We wanted something other than a resort and this offered the privacy, beauty and location we were looking for. Kathy was a great hostess. Very helpful but gave us our space. Accommodations were unique and wonderful. We loved the hot tub and outdoor shower. We loved that we were separated from the outside by only screens. The landscape is tropical and lush and beautiful. What a bonus to have an ocean view. We would definitely come back.


Very romantic, good location, wonderful.

Coral and Randy, 03/19/10

Wonderful place, location is perfect! I loved the pool and the greenery and the outdoor shower. The linens on the bed are lovely. Love the outdoor feel of it, and the location is perfect.


Great hostess, wonderful artwork. Mahalo

 Deidre Dore, 03/03/10

A real winner for travelers who want a Hawaiian retreat A real winner for travelers who want a Hawaiian retreat in which to settle, and a fabulous jumping off point for local adventures. A simple very Hawaiian and very charming Studio--tree-house like with screened windows on three sides. Well- appointed with everything one needs from beach gear and snorkeling equipment, coolers, beach chairs, and laundry soap. A lanai with excellent grill, private hot hub and outdoor shower adds to the overall comfort. Mahalo Kathy, your special touches are evident everywhere.


Tropical Hideaway is a hidden treasure

Sherry, 02/10/10.

From the open air living, to waking up to gentle sounds and the view out to the bay, to the simple thoughtfulness that makes life easy--fresh fruit, a place to do laundry, a place to set your cup, a bed that is soft and inviting--it is a place of healing and returning to joy, effortlessly. Thank you! We'll be back--again and again!


We hope to come back again

Cathy Kirkwood, 01/13/10

We enjoyed this piece of paradise very much. It was our great pleasure to stay here. Thank you for caring about our privacy. We hope to come back again. Mahalo nui loa.


The Hideaway is exactly what I picture when I think of Hawaii

Sandra and Gunther, 11/29/09

 I love the jungly atmosphere. How fun to shower and look up to see bananas growing overhead. It is also close to great snorkeling.


A little slice of heaven

Marci & Dave Aldred, 10/19/09

Tropical Hideaway is a little slice of heaven. We had a great time, and were very content.


A good place to relax and unwind

Kylee Terhaar, 08/13/09

Conveniently located to snorkeling and visiting family. Thank you for your hospitality, we would love to return.


Very private feeling

Rudi Sullivan, 04/12/09

Lovely indoor/outdoor feel, beautiful landscaping, very private feeling. Great outdoor shower, neat pool, handy DSL.


It was great to commune with nature

Miriam Levitt, 03/23/09

It was great to commune with nature, and be so close to spinner dolphins, kayaking, and fabulous snorkeling. Lovely views in all directions. Loved the outdoor shower. We would definitely recommend Tropical Hideaway.


Great location, beautiful landscape, easy going inside/outside living

Dean & Laurel McCulloch, 02/26/2009

The outdoor shower was lovely. Everything was well equipped, and appreciated having beach chairs, mats, boogie boards, snorkel gear, etc.


You have created a little paradise here

Jan McKenzie, 02/21/2009

Kathy, you have created a little paradise here. I look forward to returning very much! You are a wonderful host. Mahalo.


Private hot tub, an open and secluded garden

Harry Blumenthal, 01/31/2009

Imagine you had a really good friend with an awesome studio apartment, open to cool breezes, birds singing. Imagine a private hot tub, an open and secluded garden. Quiet and restful. Imagine Kona coffee, world class snorkeling, historic sites and vistas. No shirts, no shoes, no problems. Now call Kathy!


Makes you feel you are on a proper Hawaiian vacation

Chris Stratton, 11/23/2008

Excellent setting--pool with a waterfall, private hot tub on the covered patio. Tropical flowers and fruits everywhere. It really makes you feel you are on a proper Hawaiian vacation.


A lush, perfect garden nest for two

Sherry Lilly, 11/18/2008

We loved it! Quiet, well appointed, with lovely Hawaiian photos and decor.


We had a great time here

Elaine and Bob Schroeder, 11/10/2008  

It was very private and we loved jumping in the hot tub every morning after snorkeling and kayaking. The flowers smell heavenly at night. And the fresh flowers in the studio were a beautiful touch. Thank you!


The utmost perfect setting for relaxation and rejuvenation

Garyet, 10/04/2008

The setting is peaceful and very restful. I would recommend this spot to everyone! Kathy is most gracious and helpful.This is the place to be in Hawaii!


I loved the feeling of being outside, but with all the amenities

Beth Biscuso, 08/16/2008

We had a wonderful experience staying in your Tropical Hideaway! Your photographs, the pool, the hot tub, the wind-chimes singing in the gentle breeze. And your cute and funny cats.


A real retreat into the heart and soul of paradise

Janelle and Steve Barry, 07/01/2008

This place is very special. The studio is like a home and the gardens are beautiful. All the amenities.


A lovely and relaxing place to stay

Sharon Winnett, 06/22/2008

It was a lovely and relaxing place to stay. We especially loved the dipping pool. Right up the road from one of our favorite places to dive.


Your little piece of paradise made our trip really special!

Amanda Ault, 05/26/2008

Mahalo, Kathy, your little piece of paradise made our trip really special!


My husband and I loved this place!

Tim and Rose Humphrey, 05/06/2008

I can't say enough positive things about our stay here The peaceful location was perfect. We were nestled in our own tropical paradise. Thank you Kathy!!


Great place if you want to avoid the crowds

Kim and John Beveridge, 04/29/2008

Great place if you want to avoid the crowds at the resorts. The hot tub is a nice feature, and so was the pool. Thanks, Kathy, we had a great time!


This is just what we needed

Jeff Thomas, 03/15/2008

This is just what we needed--open air living and all the modern amenities. Nearby snorkeling was magical...And the big surprise was the discovery of your fine art. Thank you for opening your gifts to us!


We appreciated the so many small, thoughtful touches

Alan WIlliams, Darleen Wilson, 01/10/2008

We appreciated the so many small, thoughtful touches: little lights in appropriate places, useful kitchen utensils, throws by the couch, fresh fruit and help with dinner when we arrived late, info on the nearby sights, etc. Thanks so much!! We hope to return!


Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Charley & Jeanena Wilson, 1/05/2008

Morning songbirds with the gentle breeze through the banana leaves has been the perfect morning wake up in your intimate cottage, nestled here in tropical paradise--away from heavy urban life. We love being so close to the peaceful activities of this area, especially the morning swims with the turtles and the uncrowded bay of tide pools at sunset--plus the venues of Aloha Theater and the Kona Art Center.


We love this place!

Nathan and Keli, Oregon, 12/20/2007

We love this place! It is so perfect -- the tropical vegetation that provides privacy and lovely wind music, the fresh flowers, and the extra amenities such as beach chairs and mats.


Powered by SmugMug Log In